How to categorize tax payments

NadiaNadia Member Posts: 2

I'm new to wave and am trying to figure out how to a)categorize a tax payment or b)add a tax payment as a category. I've searched to forums and am not finding answers. Thank you in advance!

Comments

• lylavuonolylavuono Member Posts: 17

You wouldn't add it as a category, @Nadia, since your sales taxes are already a category. You would just make a journal entry that debits your sales tax and credits your bank account.

If you were getting a tax return, you'd do the opposite. I'm pretty sure there's an article in the help center, if you want more details.

• NadiaNadia Member Posts: 2

Thanks for your response @Lyla " ! My business makes monthly tax liability payments and I would like to be able to properly categorize them. All I find in the help center is information on sales tax. Do you know anything about this?

edited April 13, 2018
  • lylavuonolylavuono Member Posts: 17

I figure you would do it the same way, @Nadia. You would create a liability account with a starting balance for what you owe and you would enter payments for those taxes the same way. If you're worried, however, you're probably best to check in with an accountant for anything tax-related.

• KimptonKimpton Member Posts: 78 ✭✭

Nadia, you need both a tax Expense account and a tax Liability account.

When you make your monthly installment:
    Debit Taxes Payable (the Liability account)
    Credit Bank

At year end when you record your annual tax bill (or for whatever period that the taxes are calculated):
    Debit Tax Expense (the Expense account)
    Credit Taxes Payable

You can contact me at kimptonb@telus.net for more help.

• Carter44Carter44 Member Posts: 2

@Kimpton I too have the same issue. Thank you for your advice. Could you possibly tell me "where" (or what category) to add the "Debit Taxes Payable" please?

Would it be under "Other Short-Term Liability" perhaps?

• KimptonKimpton Member Posts: 78 ✭✭