Credit card payments as transfers and split transactions

LV99LV99 Member Posts: 5

I am new to Wave - I think I get how to do transfers for credit card payments, although I am confused by consistently seeing two identical-looking transactions to match with the transfer. But when I try to do a split transaction in the transfer I get 2 and 3 listings of the transfer in accounting. What do I do with the two matches offered in transfers. Where do I do the split transactions for the credit card payment? In the credit card entries in accounting?

Comments

• TracyLARTracyLAR Member Posts: 2

I need help with this too. I'm new to Wave, and accounting is new to me too. I have a newish business and trying to put all transactions from last year into Wave so that I'll have an accurate ongoing accounting. I know that initial expenses that I put on my personal credit card when getting set up I can label as owner investment. I'm wondering how to enter details of purchases with my business credit card now. I have imported my bank account and credit card account, but I was hoping to be able to categorize the credit card purchases. I'm trying to understand the transfer function so that things don't get counted twice.

• LV99LV99 Member Posts: 5

Since I wrote the above, I discovered once I setting up my credit card to sync with Wave it automatically splits the transactions. After setting up the categories for private accounting and business accounting in Chart of Accounts all I needed to do was assign the categories for each spit transaction. So happy with this feature. Still working on the transfer function, but getting more details set up in Chart of Accounts helped a lot.

• JulianPJulianP Member Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Hey there @LV99 and @TracyLAR !

It looks like you may have figured out some of the steps in this process (happy to hear that) but I will gladly shed some light on this.