Track Standard Per Deim Meals

C_MC_M Member Posts: 2

I'm new to Wave and have a couple questions regarding business meal tracking. We are a 2 member LLC and have decided to use the standard travel per diem meal rate for Accounting/Tax purposes vs the actual costs.

1. What is the best way to track/record the trips and that rate?

2. This question may not apply based on the answer to #1 but if the actual meals come through as a transaction (on corporate card) is there a way to prevent them from showing as two outflows?

Comments

• JulianPJulianP Member Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Hey @C_M !

This one is a bit tricky for me to tackle since we here at Wave Support are not accountants. With that being said, I'll try my best to assist you.

1) I'm afraid that I am unable to provide any insight on rates. However, when it comes to the bookkeeping, I may be able to point you in the right direction.

To begin, there are a couple of different ways you might be able to account for this. If you are recording the expenses on your own card and then being reimbursed after the fact, you could simply record the expenses normally. Then when you receive the per diem, you could break down the amount by splitting the transaction, assigning it as a refund for those expenses.

You could also create an Asset account in Accounting > Chart of Accounts for the per diem, put the value of your per diem in the account, and then create a transfer in Wave from the per diem account to your bank account to show when you're using those funds.

2) I'm having difficulty understanding your second question. Do you mind clarifying how you currently have the per diem setup? Are you in fact using a corporate card? If so, do you mind sharing a use-case scenario with me? Also, do you mind clarifying what you mean by "two outflows"? Additional information will give me a better understanding of your inquiry and will allow me to assist you further.

edited March 29, 2021
  • C_MC_M Member Posts: 2