Options

What do you wish you knew when you got started?

AaronValeAaronVale Member Posts: 5

Hi folks!

I'm just getting started with running my own business (and figuring out Wave). As a new business owner, I'm sure I'll run into unexpected situations and all kinds of fun trouble! I thought it'd be a good idea to ask some veteran entrepreneurs for general advice. And hey, if the advice I get here help others newbies later down the road, all the better!

So here's my question: If you could go back in time and offer one piece of business advice to your past self, when you were just getting started as a business owner, what would it be?

Tagged:
edited August 30, 2018 in Wave Discussion

Comments

• Options
    AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

That's a super interesting question, @AaronVale!

Here are a few Wavers who are sure to have hard-earned wisdom to share: @hgomezc, @Just_Lurking, @Dante_Bulluck, @Kendricks866, @chj915, @lterenzi and @whpc.

• Options
    Dante_BulluckDante_Bulluck Member Posts: 52 ✭✭

@AaronVale

It's really easy to burn yourself out. Especially early on. While you're going to have these crazy 70+ hour work weeks sometimes, you have to keep an eye on yourself, and not drive yourself into the ground. Because if you're running this thing alone and you're out of commission, your business stops.

Short version: Self-care isn't a reward. It's part of the process.

• Options
    hgomezchgomezc Member Posts: 18 ✭✭

Thank you @Alexia, for the consideration.

I will follow @Dante_Bulluck's layout. :)

@AaronVale