Options

Freelancing as a career or ?

AaronValeAaronVale Member Posts: 5

Recently, I’ve been really questioning if it’s time for me to make my part time freelancing job into a serious career. I currently am a photographer for small events throughout the week but the work seems to be coming more regularly and it’s work that I enjoy. I’ve been taking the steps to make this into a viable business and want to make sure that I am putting my business in a place to grow. Taking the next step is daunting, and so I figured I’d reach out and see if any of you had advice for making this transition successful.

Would love advice if anyone's got any...

Comments

• Options
    Ellie_Writes_ThingsEllie_Writes_Things Member Posts: 42 ✭✭

It's been working out for me, @AaronVale!

Granted, I actually never did have a traditional job. I started doing freelance gigs before I was done with college and by the time I graduated, I had enough contacts lined up to more or less sustain myself. Okay, I also made lattes for the first year or so.

If photography is what you love, and you feel like it's sustainable, I say give it a shot.

I know some employers offer the option of taking a leave without pay. If yours does, that'd be a way to try things out for a few months and see how well you take to the freelancing life. I think if you're (rightfully) afraid of taking the leap, build yourself an exit strategy first.

• Options
    amnasheikhamnasheikh Member Posts: 1

You may be able to earn some extra income doing freelancing but if you are looking for a full time freelancing that really is very competitive. As you are the photographer and that's not a field like an app development or software development so the competition is very high it's as competitive as articles writing service which anyone can provide therefore I would recommend you to do freelancing as part-time work.

• Options
    umairbinhabibumairbinhabib Member Posts: 5

Hi Aaron,