Questions about Owner's Equity Accounts

RichLuxRichLux Member Posts: 3

I'm a Newbie to Wave and I have a number of questions regarding Owner's Equity Accounts. Any help would be greatly appreciated:

1. By default Wave created a single account Owner's Equity account . I have a multi-member LLC, so should I create an Owner's Equity account for each member?
  2. For Starting Balance for Assets, according to this Wave help document, starting balances for assets should be entered as a Journal entry with a debit to the asset account and a credit to "your Owner's Equity account for the same amount." If I have multiple Owner's Equity Accounts, how would I allocate these items?
  3. How do I keep these Owners Equity Accounts up to date? I've allocated distributions/draws to these accounts, but Wave also created an Owner Contribution account (I added one for the other partner) and money put into the company is assigned to these accounts. Shouldn't there just be a single account for each partner that money in and out is assigned to? Also, am I supposed to manually add entries each year to include end of year profit/loss in these accounts?

Thanks in advance,
Rich

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@RichLux,
    Here you go.
    1. Yes, an equity account should be created for each partner. For partnerships that I work with, I usually create one for each partner under the Owners Contributions and Drawings. Wave has 2 sections under Equity, it does not matter which one you use. Meaning you can create either Owner's Equity - Rich or Owner Contributions/Drawings - Rich.
    2. You allocate based on the value contributed by each partner. A simple example would be Rich and Mike contribute cash of 500 each. Debit Cash - Checking $1000 and credit Owner Contribution - Rich $500 and credit Owner Contribution - Mike $500