recording transaction

mzpmzp Member Posts: 14

i would like to ask, because im new to wave apps, new to business, and got confuse to record my business transaction. im not too good in english too, pardon me.
1. to start my business i register account at bank, let say $ 1000. how to record it? i think it should be categorize at equity... but at what account? cash on hand or owner investment?
2. than i bring some more money to my business but not bank in it in the account i just register, how should i record it? i think it should be categorize at equity, but again at what account? cash on hand or owner investment?
3. i take some money from my business, from the bank account i register, so i have cash, so i can use for business purpose at anytime it should, so from what it look like, it appear at my bank statement i have draw money, but from business view i still dont use it... so should i record it at wave or not? if so, what category i should record it? because it just to have cash at hand.
i thinks that is all for the moment. actually i dont know where to click so i start new discussion. im sorry if that is not what i should do.

Comments

• AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @mzp.

Welcome to Wave! We're happy to have you!

The first thing you'll need to do is create an account on your Chart of Accounts page for your business' bank account. You can do this by following the instructions found here.

Once that's done, we can set up that starting balance. Here's how you do it.

• On the Transactions page, under Accounting, click Add Income.
    • You can name that transaction whatever makes the most sense to you, let's call it Starting Balance for the purpose of this example.
    • As the payment account, choose your newly created bank account. This represents which one of the business' payment accounts was changed. This transaction adds money to this account, so it's an income for your bank account.