Negative Starting Balance

epiloepilo Member Posts: 9

Hi there,

I'm new to wave, coming over from QB Online! Love the simple UI and features of Wave..

Anyway, I'm trying to add a Starting Balance, (unfortunately) with a negative value, however, it isn't accepting this.

How can I simply add a stating balance with a negative value please..seems simple? Add a '-' before the value- right?

Please help

Thanks,
David

Comments

• epiloepilo Member Posts: 9

Anyone help please. I can't move forward without putting an accurate starting balance in. Wave isn't accepting a negative value. :/

Thanks

• AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @epilo!

Let me start by welcoming you to Wave! Can you give me a bit more information as to what you're trying to model in the real world? What account are you trying to put in the negatives? With more information, I'll be able to tell you what might be happening, as well as how to get around it.

Hi there,

I need to add a starting balance for my accounts as per your help pages: https://support.waveapps.com/hc/en-us/articles/208622796-What-is-a-starting-balance-transaction-

I have followed how to add a deposit against owners equity ( as shown in the steps in the link above). However, my balance for the starting date is a negative value, let’s say -£300. It appears that it won’t accept a negative value when I try and save he transaction. So, the question is please, how can I add a negative starting value for my business account - epilo?

Hi @Epilo.

You would just make this transaction a withdrawal instead of a deposit.

Can I ask what exactly you're trying to represent? If you have an overdraft on your bank account, for example, it might be more accurate to treat it as a separate liability account.