Options

Asset or Expense?

KerissaKerissa Member Posts: 6

Hello! I have a direct market farm with a few different species of animals that I keep records separate for. I'm pretty new to actual accounting and am wondering what account I should put the category of Tools and Supplies for each animal under. Generally what I put under this label are materials for structures, waterer's feeders etc.... things that really are an investment, non-consumable items. These are things that will be used for more than one year. I am thinking asset account?

I am also wondering the same thing about my land accounts. We lease land, so would the lease payment go under an asset account? And materials for the land, like fencing, irrigation etc?

We also do rentals, so would the mortgage for the rental be under the liability end of things or an asset? Really it makes my assets increase under land, but also notes payable under liabilities.

I am taking an accounting 1 course so am learning debits and credits and am not entirely sure how this translates into chart of accounts in wave.

I hope I am making sense, any help is really appreciated!

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @kerissa,

Assets represent things that you own that have value. This covers tools, vehicles, land, the money in your bank account and so on. If it's something you could resell, it's probably an asset.

Rental payments wouldn't be an asset account, but an income account. It isn't a resource in and of itself, but a source from where resources can come. If you're paid rent, the cheque is deposited to your bank account (that's the Payment Account in Wave) and you'll set the category to the income account "Rent Payment" (or whatever makes the most sense). Materials might count as either expenses or assets, depending on how you prefer handling them.