Refund

marpie76marpie76 Member Posts: 5

I'm very new to Wave and just issued my first refund using Wave. I have refunded $100 out of $250 back to a student. Their invoice originally said 0.00 due after they paid the 250. Now after the $100 refund it says $100 is due. I'm confused...

Comments

• AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @marpie76,

Yes, that's normal. Your invoice was still issued and will continue to exist, and as far as Wave can see, it hasn't been paid in full, since the refund counts as a negative payment against that invoice.

To mark is a paid, you'll have to write-off that $100. We have a guide explaining how to do this here.

Try following those instructions and let me know if you run into any issues.

• marpie76marpie76 Member Posts: 5

I saw that article the other day and used it for bad debt on invoices I know I'm not getting paid for. So for all refunds, the Wave invoice will show amount due and I will have to "write-off" that amount? Should I create another category instead of "bad debt"?

Hi, @marpie76,

You can name that account whatever name makes the most sense to you. Is this refunding part of your usual workflow for invoices in general? If so, could you give me more information about this process and your business? I might be able to offer a better alternative if I have more details about what's happening in the real world.

If this is a safety deposit, for example, the process would be a bit different.

We are a private career school. Sometimes a student will drop the class and we have to give a partial refund. Sometimes I refund using the payment section if they paid with a card, sometimes we write a refund check. I'm still not sure how to create a refund in wave when I send a refund check...

Hi, @marpie76,