Sole Trader UK - Taking money out business

JKCWSJKCWS Member Posts: 14

Hi

I'm new to wave and accounting in general. Im a small sole trader based in the UK and having trouble working out what to do when taking money from "The Business"
]I understand that as a sole trader I am the Business, but for the purpose of getting my accounting figures to look correct i am having a little trouble recording when I move money out of the business accounts to put into my personal ones.

What I have done so far is created a journal transaction moving the money from the business account to another one created called personal. I then create another transaction showing that amount as owners drawings.

My profit & loss seems to be recording fine, but when i look at the account balances, it is taking into account the personal one i created. It doesn't give me a true reflection of the money sat in the "Business accounts"

Comments

• Shaun_SGL_ServicesShaun_SGL_Services Member Posts: 16
    Hi,

Please see this post 😊
    https://community.waveapps.com/discussion/comment/8119#Comment_8119
  • JKCWSJKCWS Member Posts: 14
    Thanks for the reply, that is what I have been doing although I do it to owners investment / drawings instead.

The thing is when I look at what's in my accounts overall I see a negative figure because the account I use to pay myself is always having money taken from it.

What I wanted to be able to see is a total amount that the business has available in its accounts for spending, but the personal nal account figure skews this.

I think it's possibly me wanting wave to do something it's not meant to do 😂

What account do you use to take the drawings from? Do you and customers pay into that account?

No I have an account set up for customers to pay into and for expenses etc, then i have another account called personal.