Options

Accounting Foreign Exchange conversions between accounts in Wave

alexjones_26alexjones_26 Member Posts: 2

Hi everyone

I'm just getting started with Wave. So far I'm really impressed by the interface and ease-of-use!

I have run into one error though that I really can't wrap my head around. I'm a complete accounting novice, so sorry in advance in case I don't understand some of your advice!

Background
I am a sole trader working in the music industry. I invoice clients in multiple currencies, but this is usually limited to GBP (my home currency), EUR (most common), and USD (least common).

For business purposes, I bank with Transferwise. This is because they have by far the cheapest currency conversion out there. E.g. I receive a €500 payment into my Transferwise Euro account in EUR, and whenever I need to, I will convert it into GBP (at mid-market rate with a minimal fee) to be able to pay myself my "dividend" or whatever else you'd name it.

I have created "Cash in Hand EUR" and "Cash in Hand USD" to receive any foreign currency payments. In preparation of doing my taxes, I am in the process of loading in some of my past work by mocking up an invoice for the exact amount (without sending to the client) and creating a manual transaction to receive the payment on whatever date that may be that I was paid. Wave will then know what I earned for the tax year. All good so far.

Problem(s)
My problem arises when I try to account for the fact that I have converted from one currency to another in Transferwise. I received a payment of €500 on 1st September 2017. It was received into my TransferWise EUR account, so I 'received' the payment in Wave into 'Cash in Hand EUR'.