Starting up (newbie question)

geebeegeebee Member Posts: 3

Hello I am new to Wave and to accounting. Please pardon my ignorance if this is obvious or already answered previously.

1. I created an LLC in November (let's call it XYZ LLC). This is a single-member LLC. I set up a bank account for this LLC.
  2. I transferred $500 from my personal checking account to the LLC checking account.

I have two questions.

1. how do I create entry for the $500 initial capital investment in Wave?
  2. When I created the LLC, I paid around $350 from my personal checking account to register the LLC, rent web site space, etc. How do I "pay myself" from the business?

If it matters, this LLC is for freelancing/consulting services. I will not receive the first consulting payments until late January or early February.

Thank you in advance!
GB

Comments

• JudeRoseJudeRose Member Posts: 21

Hello @geebee,
    I would enter a journal for these

1. debit LLC bank account 500, credit owner investment 500
    2. debit P&L expenses $350 credit owner investment $350

you could then transfer the money back from the business to cover the 350, leaving $150 in the account

Hope that helps
    Chris

• geebeegeebee Member Posts: 3

Thank you @JudeRose. This helps. I have a couple of other newbie questions on how to actually implement these in Wave.

1. debit LLC bank account 500, credit owner investment 500

For this, do I "link" the LLC bank account and debit that? Or use one of Wave's accounts in chart of accounts?

If I link the LLC bank account with Wave, then then the balance in that account will be downloaded from the bank account and show $500. Then if I debit that account with another account in Wave, the bank balance and the wave balance will be out of sync. Or am I missing something basic?

1. debit P&L expenses $350 credit owner investment $350

When I transfer the $350 from my LLC to myself, the owner investment account should go down (I.e. debit), is that correct?