Options

Help with inaccurate 'All Accounts' and 'Payments by Wave'

brightstar123brightstar123 Member Posts: 2

Hi everyone, I'm a new Australian-based small business owner and I'm struggling with a problem with Wave. Everything has been working well, however I have noticed that my 'All Accounts' balance is inaccurate because it contains duplicate transactions.
For example, my 'Payments by Wave' page will show "Invoice payment for Invoice 5" and then my bank account page will show a Stripe transaction that I can rename as payment for invoice 5, but can't appear to do much else with. The Payments by Wave page doesn't clear once the Stripe payments appear in my bank account - things would be fine if this happened.
Apologies if I have explained this in a confusing way! Please let me know if anyone has any advice, or if I need to provide more information. I suspect I'm probably doing something wrong managing my Stripe payments, however they aren't easy either as they appear in my bank account as just a long series of random numbers/letters, and with nothing identifying which invoice they are for. Thanks for any help, I really appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    mcullisonmcullison Member Posts: 3

I have the exact problem. :(

• Options
    SamdSamd Member Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Hey @brightstar123 and @mcullison,

It sounds like what's happening is a duplication with the original transaction created by Wave, and then the secondary transaction imported by your bank. Wave should ideally be accounting for these duplications along these lines automatically: Bookkeeping Changes to Payments by Wave

In short, invoice payments are categorized to the "Payments by Wave" account temporarily while the payment processes. Once your bank account receives the actual deposit and the record is imported in Wave, a transfer is created from the "Payments by Wave" category to your bank account category.