How to zero out accounts when starting a new year

sanjeevjsanjeevj Member Posts: 24

I'm a newbie and have used wave in 2018 (Great app, BTW)
How do I start a new year from zero?

For example, when I run reports > General Ledger for 2019, expense categories (say meals or Internet expense) still show "Starting Balance" carried over from 2018 and then the new transactions of 2019. Same happens for all other categories like income , payroll salary etc.

Assuming I have wrapped up everything related to 2018, How do I start from scratch?
The Only item I want to carry forward is the Cash in Business Banking account after wrapping up 2018 (Paying all bills, taxes etc) and start all other categories from Zero.

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

Sanjeevnuts,
    Accounting programs typically do not close out the accounts at year end and is not really necessary. That is because each time to run a report for a specific time, it will accumulate the data for requested time period. However, if you feel the need to start with zero balances you will need to prepare a closing entry. A closing entry is where you debit and credit the income and expense accounts with the offset being retained earnings (owners equity). You can also close out distributions to to retained earnings as well. By doing this you will start the next period with zero balances. However, any reports you run with cross over fiscal years will be incorrect because of the closing entry. Hope that makes sense. In practice, rarely have I seen closing entries. An example of why - If you close owners drawings each year you won't be able to easily tell have much you have withdrawn since inception. I would suggest leaving as is and not creating a closing entry.
    Mike G, CPA
    www.mgfinancial.net
    Better Service - Better Pricing

• sanjeevjsanjeevj Member Posts: 24

Thank you for the advise.