Options

How to claim expenses back

billtleebilltlee Member Posts: 4

Hi all,
I have been recording my expenses in wave apps using cash on hand before I made any deposits into a bank account. So, I have been running a negative balance for a few months. I have recently made a deposit into a bank account and would like to withdraw money from the business account back to my personal account covering the expenses I have entered into the system. I have a few questions.

1. Am I using the system correctly to track my expenses?
  2. What is the best way to record that in waveapps? If I record a cash extraction of the expenses amount from the account, the accounting will not be accurate.

Thanks in advance

Bill

Comments

• Options
    MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

Bill,
    When you recorded expenses for your business that you paid personally, the offset should be to owner drawing/contribution. You would not use the cash on hand. By crediting owners equity you are saying that you invested in the business. When you say you made a deposit, is that from a sale? Any cash that you pull out would reduce you equity in the business, you you would debit owners drawing and credit cash for the amount paid to yourself. Hope that makes sense.
    MikeG, CPA
    www.mgfinancial.net

• Options

Thanks Mike! So, if I have already classified all those pass expenses as cash on hand, is there an easy way to change them back to owner contribution? I.e., what can I do at this point to mitigate my mistake?

• Options
    MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

billtlee,