Setting up Equity category for partnership + handling expenses before biz account

HCSHCS Member Posts: 3

Hi there,

I'm new to small business/accounting and trying to set up Wave for a Partnership my colleague and I just established. I have two questions:

1) We are going to be sharing start-up expenses 50/50. I can't figure out how I should set up the Equity accounts to reflect this. Should we each have our own "Partner Investment / Drawings" category under "Business Owner Contribution and Drawing"?

2) We had expenses before we got our business bank account up and running. I paid them on my own credit card, and then my partner reimbursed me 50%. What's the best way to record/handle these in Wave?

Thanks,
Megan

edited April 19, 2019 in Accounting Technical Support

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

Hi Megan,
    You would set up under equity a Partner Distribution - Megan and Partner Distribution Jane Doe account. This account should be used for when you make distributions to yourselves. You can also set up under equity Partner Capital - Megan and Partner Capital Jane Doe. This account would be used to record capital contributed. To record your start up expenses that you each paid outside of the partnership you would debit the expense or asset and credit capital contribution.
    Mike G, CPA
    www.mgfinancial.net
    Affordable Solutions for Small Business

• HCSHCS Member Posts: 3

Thanks Mike!

I gave that a try, and the confusion I'm running into is that when I have an expense (for example - $220 for a service) and try to split it 50/50 in Wave, it only lets me select a single account. Later in the receipt/transaction, I can select two categories when splitting (for example - Capital - Megan and Capital - Jane Doe) but I still have to select a single account to attribute it to.