Expense Not showing in Report

jendyleejendylee Member Posts: 1

How come the expenses that i enter is not reflecting in the reports?

Comments

• CharlotteCharlotte Member Posts: 671 admin

Hi @jendylee could you provide a few more details so that I can answer your question more thoroughly? Which types of expenses and which report are you referring to? Keep in mind that the forum is public, so I'd recommend not including any personal or identifying information in your responses.

• Sebastiaan_keijzerSebastiaan_keijzer Member Posts: 1

Hi,

I did start my buisiness. Im a electrician.
    Bookkeeping is new for me and i hoped Wave could make it more easy for me but im having dome difficultys with the following:

-when i scan a recipe for materials that i bought cash why it doesn't show up in the reports.
    i also cant find a category materials when i scan a receipt.

I also bought a lot off machinery new to start the business. I scanned the receipt but it doesn't show up as investment.

You see its not clear to me how to start.

Maybe somebody can point me out somewhere in this community to help me out?

Thank you all.

Sebastiaan

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

Sebastiaan,
    Sometimes it's best to start off simple rather than adding layers to the bookkeeping process such as receipts. Rather than trying to match items up I would set up the chart of accounts with what is appropriate for an electrician. Next connect your bank and credit cards that you use for business. Use banking and credit card transactions to do the actual bookkeeping but keep your receipts. Scan and save them somewhere if you want to be digital. To get equipment on the books that you have purchased to start the business you would do a journal entry. You would debit equipment (asset) and credit owners equity at cost, if new.
    Mike G, CPA
    www.mgfinancial.net
    Affordable Solutions For
    Your Small Business

• kylozenkylozen Member Posts: 4

Mike G,