Deleting a bill and categories for transactions

PriscillaPriscilla Member Posts: 4

Hello there,

I am new to WaveApps and run my own small business. I am not very confident with Accounting but working with Waveapps is making it more enjoyable.
(Thanks to the team for the wonderful software. :) )

I would like advise please.

1. Is it best to set up all purchases as individual Vendors the match the Transactions from my linked bank account to the Vendors?
  2. I am confused about the categories, when I go into Accounts and Transactions, I see all the debits from my linked bank account but I need to then assign it to a category so if I choose 'Payment Sent for Bill in Wave' does this mean I need to have created a bill to link the transaction to?
  3. I have done the above, I have set up Bill in Wave for £80.52 for the AirBnB vendor but now I seem to have two transations for £80.52

I hope my questions make sense, I am sure my inexperience is showing but I also know that with the support of the wonderful community I will be on my way to balancing accounts in no time.

PS. I am also unable to delete the Bills I have created, I drop down the little arrow next to the Bill but I do not see delete as an option.

Comments

• SamdSamd Member Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Hey @Priscilla, and welcome :)

1. That depends on how thoroughly you want to account. It would be a good way to track everywhere you spend money, but it's likely you're also going to need to track one-off expenses as well. Say you need to run to a specific petrol station for fuelling up for a travel expense, you could just use the preset expense categories in Wave (or create your own via Accounting > Chart of Accounts) rather than needing to also set up this station as a vendor.