Bank loan for new van

davesecordavesecor Member Posts: 8

Hello
I’ve been using wave for the last 3 years and managed to handle all my (Sole Trader) requirements until now.
So my problem is I’ve just bought a new van for my business with a loan from my bank.
I did a lot of searching and found some information on how to enter these into wave. However I can’t seem to get it to work and my head is seriously hurting. Could someone please take me (by the hand) through entering these two items into my books? Feel free to point me to video’s and screen shots
Thank you

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

davesecor,
    The way you would do that is as follows. Example - You purchase a van for $25,500. Includes taxes and fees. You made a down payment of $1000 and finance the balance. Step 1 create accounts - you need an asset under property for Vehicles. Create an accumulated depreciation for Vehicles and create Vehicle Loan as a liability. Next Step Let's say the 1,000 down payment came from the business banking and was imported. You would code that transaction to Vehicle - Asset. Next create a journal entry to record the balance of the asset and loan. Debit Vehicle 24,500 and credit Vehicle loan 24,500. Your payments would be applied against the loan. As often as you would like, you would need to expense the interest portion of the payment. Let's say your payment is 385 per month with 50 for interest and 335 is principal. Your journal entry would be debit interest expense and credit Vehicle loan for $50. I'm assuming your are not in the US based on "Sole Trader" term and I do not know how depreciation is computed in your locale, but the entry would be debit depreciation expense $XX and credit accumulated $XX
    Mike G, CPA
    www.mgfinancial.net

• davesecordavesecor Member Posts: 8

@Mikeg
    Hi Mike ,Thank you for taking the time to respond to my post for help. You guessed correct im from the UK.