Sales Tax calculated incorrectly

svdbdecodevsvdbdecodev Member Posts: 1

I just realized my sales tax on purchases is not being calculated correctly. It is supposed to be 15% (I set it up that way) but I discovered the system calculates it as 13.04%. I'm worried about all the past purchases I've loaded and if they are also calculated incorrectly. Can someone please help correct this?

Comments

• JamieDJamieD Administrator Posts: 1,156 admin

Hey @svdbdecodev. Could you please give me an example of your Sales Tax not calculating correctly? I would have to see exactly what's happening here to understand (perhaps an example transaction with a screenshot would help). To confirm, you've also set the Sales Tax to 15%? Let me know when you get a chance.

• CottageKeeperCottageKeeper Member Posts: 3

I'm having the same issue. My sales tax is set up as 5.3% but the purchase below is calculating .02 over. The correct tax is $3.92 but the bill is calculating as $3.94

I'm a newbie to Wave, so I'm sure I've done something incorrectly.

Grateful for any advice!

edited July 31, 2019
  • AlexLAlexL Member Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭

Hey @CottageKeeper . The tax rounding that occurs in your invoices is done on a line-item basis. This means that we individually round each individual line to 2 decimal places and add them up together at the end of the invoice.

As there's no way around this at the moment, I typically give the workaround of adding/discounting a new invoice item for $0.02 to charge the right amount and then mark it as an adjustment entry.

• CottageKeeperCottageKeeper Member Posts: 3