Invoice and Transaction Duplicate entry and receipts

PriscillaPriscilla Member Posts: 4

Hello,
I am new to Waveapps, I am trying to work out how to invoice a customer and record a manual payment, then match up the payment from the customer in my transactions section which is linked to my bank account.
I am having similar problem with reciepts, if I upload a receipt how to I link to it's relevant transaction please?

Any help greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• BarsinBarsin Member, Moderator Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭

Hi @Priscilla

Welcome to Wave community :smile:
    Let me just forward you to this thread which might answer your question regarding the -->duplicate receipts<--

In regards to your duplicate invoice entries, this is a little different. So if you're using payments by wave, then our system should in theory automatically connect your income from the client to the invoice that was created. If however you do not have payments by wave turned on, you should be categorizing your bank transaction import, rather than marking the invoice as paid.

In your transactions page, find the income received by a client brought in by your bank connection, and select the drop down 'choose a category' option. This should allow you to scroll down and link that income to an invoice by selecting "payment made to an invoice". Categorize it to the appropriate invoice and it will in turn show up as paid, not creating a duplicate

If you notice that it's been duplicated and there are two transactions, it's likely because you selected "mark invoice as paid", which creates a transaction, and then your bank import brings in the income transaction as well.. Delete the bank import one and moving forward I would recommend using the choose a category option. This will detect your invoice has been paid. In the drop down there is a 'more option' category, you might have to locate the invoice in there.

• RMenschelRMenschel Member Posts: 13