How Input Personal Loan and Pay back?

One_AutoOne_Auto Member Posts: 15

Hi, I'm new to Wave and not the best at bookkeeping and require help!
I have a couple of questions-
1) How would I input items I have purchased for the business with my own personal money.
2) How would I pay my self back for the items I purchased.
Many Thanks

Chris

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

One_Auto,
    To record purchases made on behalf of the business with your personal funds, record via journal entry. (Accounting/Transactions/Click on More). Debit the type of expense and credit owners draw. Record any checks written to yourself as an owners draw as well. It just has the opposite effect.

• One_AutoOne_Auto Member Posts: 15

Thanks for the help,
    As of yet, I have not paid my self back, I assume for now I will only input into the income(Loan) the amount I have spent when I pay my self back I input into the expense?
    Or would I put it down as a bill for now until paid back?
    Thanks

edited September 12, 2019

Transactions with the owner are neither income or expense. The Owners account (loan or equity) is a balance sheet account. Follow the process I mentioned to record amounts spent by you personally and when you pay yourself back. There is no need for a bill.

> @Mikeg said:
    > One_Auto,
    > To record purchases made on behalf of the business with your personal funds, record via journal entry. (Accounting/Transactions/Click on More). Debit the type of expense and credit owners draw. Record any checks written to yourself as an owners draw as well. It just has the opposite effect.

Hi sorry bringing this up again, I couldn't get my head around it!

A Couple of we questions on this!

Why use Journal and not just add an expense to the transaction page for Drawings?

I wasn't understanding the above post, why would I debit and credit (Journal),
    Should I have two Accounts setup, Business and personal?

Thanks

@One_Auto,