Options

How do I add simple inventory as assets?

MagnoliaArtMagnoliaArt Member Posts: 1

I am fairly new to Wave and most of my accounting needs are fairly simple. I have read help articles about listing inventory as assets. I created categories on my Chart of Accounts, and created items in my products category under Products and Services under Sales. But that's as far as I can get. I am an artist, and I create custom artwork, prints, and other products with my artwork on it. I want to be able to keep an inventory list with the number of each variety of print I have available for sale, as well as note card packets, and any other items I have ready to sell. Is this this something I can do on Wave? I understand it won't automatically track those items or know when I sell them out of my inventory.

Comments

• Options
    MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@MagnoliaArt,
    That is correct that Wave cannot do inventory tracking automatically. You can however, add inventory as an asset if you want to. If you are looking to track how many of x, y and z you have, you may be better off using excel. The inventory account on the balance sheet would represent the total cost of the items that are being held for resale. You can create multiple inventory accounts as well. Since Wave cannot adjust the inventory balance, you would need to do that manually through journal entries.

• Options
    Phil_BarksPhil_Barks Member Posts: 2

@Mikeg said:
    @MagnoliaArt,
    That is correct that Wave cannot do inventory tracking automatically. You can however, add inventory as an asset if you want to. If you are looking to track how many of x, y and z you have, you may be better off using excel. The inventory account on the balance sheet would represent the total cost of the** items that are being held for resale.** You can create multiple inventory accounts as well. Since Wave cannot adjust the inventory balance, you would need to do that manually through journal entries.