How to record assets and liabilities in wave

bkkclientbkkclient Member Posts: 1

I want to enquire how does one record the assets and liabilities in wave as I am struggling to capture the new assets that was bought by my client? I recently started using Wave so I am still learning how to use it.

Comments

• CharlotteCharlotte Member Posts: 671 admin

Hi, thanks for posting! Could you go into a little more detail? Do you mean, for example, the purchase of an asset? More broadly, you can create asset and liability accounts on your Chart of Accounts page as needed.

I'd also recommend giving our Getting Started webinara watch.

• Michael DeNicolaMichael DeNicola Member Posts: 1

Not sure what person was looking for, but I want to record a bank check for an investment in another business. This is an asset, not an expense. Similarly, if you write a check for "deposit". Again, this is not an expense or income so it should not be recorded as such.

I am assuming that this is not available in WAVE. A work around would be to record to an expense account and then do a journal entry to transfer to the correct asset account?

Hi Michael, thanks for posting. Yes, you can use a journal. However, for recording purchase of an asset, you can also use a Bill. You'll find that you can choose asset accounts as the expense category for your line items in the process of bill creation.

• OfficeWorker_3698LLCOfficeWorker_3698LLC Member Posts: 2