Accounting of Intangible or intellectual property

LarryZdanisLarryZdanis Member Posts: 3

Hi, I'm new to accounting.. I read Wave's Fearless Accounting Guide (impressed). I understand the equation Equity = Assets - Liablities, and that with double-entry accounting there should always be one account "debited" and one "credited" in order to keep the equation 'balanced'. (1) However, I don't understand how intangible assets or intellectual property (IP) fit into this. Something like 'value of a trusted brand name' is something that grows slowly and shouldn't wouldn't seem to have a credit or debits associated with it (until a company issued a license or was sold, I suppose), so how/when do you add such value to your Assets? (2) Also, how would these be entered such they don't impact/reflect "profit", as companies are only required to pay tax on Cash profits. These are question maybe best left to an expert; otherwise we might go around in circles with lots of opinions.. but I figured I'd try posting.

Comments

• AlexLAlexL Member Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭

Hey @LarryZdanis , thanks for doing your homework and I'm glad to hear you loved reading Fearless Accounting, I know the colleague of mine that wrote it would love to hear this!

I'm afraid you may be correct in regards to the questions you're asking. These tend to be on the difficult side when it comes to Accounting and I'm afraid as we're not accountants, I wouldn't want to advise on something that may have greater ramifications on your books. I'd highly recommend reaching out to an accountant or CPA directly for these questions as they should be able to help you record this appropriately.

edited May 26, 2020
  • MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@LarryZdanis,