Generate a report that shows both income and expense for a certain job.

BlairBlair Member Posts: 3

I am new with Wave, and accounting, and a new small business owner. I was wondering if you guys could help me. I have been trying for a while now and I can't figure it out on my own.

I need to generate a report that shows the profit/loss for a certain job. I had to manually create an income for "Job 1" and an expense for "Job 1". When I go to reports I can't seem to figure out a way to show both debits AND credits in one report so I can see whether I had a profit or loss for that specific job. Is there a way to do this?

Comments

• BarsinBarsin Member, Moderator Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭

Hey there @Blair

First off welcome to Wave and to our community forum :smile:

The profit and loss report unfortunately does not show both debits and credits, but I think what you might be looking for is under the Reports > Account transactions (general ledger) report? This should give you both debits and credits columns and you can filter out your income or expense accounts here.

Hope this helps!

• BlairBlair Member Posts: 3

Thank you! I appreciate the welcome and input.

I pulled the general ledger report as you suggested however it's only showing me the expenses I made (as debits) and refunds (as credits). Do you know if there is any way that I can pull a report that shows income minus expenses for a specific job?

Also, is there a way to pull a report that only shows actual income (not refunds)? Or is there a way to work around that?

I appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you so much!

• CalliePCallieP Member Posts: 439 admin