Receipts - duplication

vikingesuvikingesu Member Posts: 2

Hi, I am new to Wave. I am looking through the features to see if I can use it for a Scout Unit I am treasurer for. So far so good!

A question regarding receipts. I have uploaded some receipts and which relate to card transactions. When I go to the transaction view, duplicate transactions are showing. One from the bank statement import and one from the uploaded receipt. How can I stop this happening? Does wave search for these duplicates? Can I merge them?

Also, it would be useful to select an expense in the transaction view and have a link back to the receipt that is linked to it. Is this possible?

Thanks,

Gavin

Comments

• CleanBeerCleanBeer Member Posts: 2

This is an issue that is constant with Wave. They say they are working on a solution but this problem goes back quite a while. I guess their old platform had a merge feature but for some reason this "upgraded" version does not.

The answer I've been given is to just delete one of the receipts.. but now my questions is, which one? Does it matter which one gets deleted?

Now that I have sales coming in I am having the same problem. Duplicates. One from the invoice and one from the bank. If I am to delete one of them in order to balance my books, which one should I delete?

• vikingesuvikingesu Member Posts: 2

Thanks for the reply. My work around for the time being is to create an account named 'Card transactions'. When it appears in the bank statement I allocate it to a transfer to the 'Card transactions' account. I then set the receipt to withdraw from the 'Card transactions' account. At least this way I don't have to delete transactions.

However, this raises another question... from looking around the platform, you cant bulk tag transfers?

• AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi @vikingesu.