Categorizing Prepaids

AlpacamomAlpacamom Member Posts: 4

I am new to the Wave software so not sure where to be in asking questions about transactions, or the software so hope someone can help me. I have a couple questions.
I have 2 non-profit organizations, that I do accounting for, both have prepaid expenses and income that are for events in the following year. How and where would I categorize them? I know I would have to transfer them into the income/expense accounts on Jan 1 of each year. My guess is a prepaid account but not sure. I also need to record a Prepaid deposit that really just transfers to the next years event by the facility. Easier on both of us, just don't know how to record it as an asset. I haven't found where we can do journal entries, is that possible.

edited March 30, 2021 in Accounting Technical Support

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@Alpacamom,
    Prepaid expenses and prepaid revenue are items that are accounted for using journal entries. A short term asset and short term liability need to be created for each. A typical prepaid expense is insurance. Let's go through insurance as an example, The entity pays 1200 for insurance on 6/29/20. Coverage is for 6/30/20 to 6/29/2021. On your transaction journal you would see the entire 1200. This should be categorized as prepaid insurance. Every month you would make a journal entry to record insurance expense. The entry would be Debit insurance expense and credit prepaid insurance. Based on the above you would have 100 per month (1200/12). At the end of the year you would expect the balance of prepaid to be 600.
    Prepaid expenses and revenue are accrual method accounting concepts.

• AlpacamomAlpacamom Member Posts: 4