Application or Knocking-off Vendor Prepayments / Advances to Suppliers

mhammadlatifACCAmhammadlatifACCA Member Posts: 37

I am a Professional Accountant and have used Oracle R12, Microsoft Dynamics GP, QuickBooks in addition to few other apps. I recently started using Wave for my new employer and found it good so far. I tried around a dozen web apps before using deciding to use Wave; Wave is a quite decent app but yes, there are few necessary features missing like vouchers printing, approval workflows etc. I hope the devs will be adding them sooner or later. Even that, we have managed to do our work with few workarounds and a few still need to be figured out like Deduction of Tax at Source (at the time of payment).

Anyway, lets come to the subject, I have two things to share with you guys:
1. How to create Vendor Prepayments or Advances to Suppliers in Wave.
2. How to apply / knock-off Vendor Prepayments in Wave.

1. How to create Vendor Prepayments or Advances to Suppliers in Wave

• Create a new account in Chart of Accounts under "Assets > Vendor Prepayments and Vendor Credits" as a control account for Vendor Prepayments / Advances to suppliers
  • Go to "Accounting > Transactions > Add expense" with following selections:
    • Select your Bank or Cash Account in "Account" field for "Withdrawal".
    • "Add vendor" and select the Vendor in whose name you want to make a Prepayment / Advance payment
    • Select the newly created account (as mentioned above) in "Category"
    • Enter your cheque or transaction no. in the notes to track it from the bank statement in the future.
    • Save it
    • Use "Mark as reviewed" as an approval feature (although approval and transaction posting feature is missing in waves but its good to use this tick mark to use a senior review)

You are all set. Prepayment / Advance to Supplier can be seen in both Vendor (Accounts Payables (AP)) reports as well as in Balance Sheet (General Ledger (GL))