Newby questions

inschinsch Member Posts: 5

I am in the UK. I am evaluating Wave to see if it would work for me. I am a sole trader and will use the programme to create VAT returns and my annual tax returns. I work on a cash basis. Generally it is looking very good. However, I am a bit lost on a couple of things:

Firstly I can't see how to add an Expense category - I don't want all my expenses in 'Operating Expense' - I want to break them into 'General Admin', 'Travel & Subsistence', 'Legal & Prof' etc. In 'Chart of Accounts' I can see how to add an account within the current categories but not how to add a new account Expense category.

My second question is how to create a Sales Tax report. In 'Reports' this option is not listed.

Any advice? Thank you

Comments

• petapeta Member Posts: 2

I cannot save a bank statement in any other format than adobe pdf.Any suggestions.

• inschinsch Member Posts: 5

@peta said:
    I cannot save a bank statement in any other format than adobe pdf.Any suggestions.

Should this have been a comment to my post? Surely it would be better as its own posting? Could you delete it here and make a fresh posting.

• AccountsProAccountsPro Member Posts: 103 ✭✭

@insch

Those are all good questions!

How to add an Expense category

As far as I can tell, there is no option to create Expense Categories or sub-accounts in Wave. "Operating Expenses" is the section where most expenses are recorded.

I do have a suggestion for a workaround:

In the chart of accounts, add an expense account as your "main account" and then add the sub-accounts with similar names. You can also use the Account ID to help categorise:

Example:

L&P-000 LEGAL AND PROFESSIONAL
    L&P-001 L&P - Legal document fees
    L&P-002 L&P - Consultation Fees
    L&P-003 L&P - Legal bodies subscriptions