How should I track my purchases?

zp03zp03 Member Posts: 2

Hello, Wave community!

I currently run a small retail business and had some concerns about tracking my purchases for the stock I purchase to resell on Wave. I am fairly new to accounting so kindly bear with me.

For my business, we purchase our items for a set price and then make adjustments to them to fit our business. For example, we include the cost of our packaging and other aspects into our cost price. So I will purchase something that costs $12 but after adjustments, it would be $15. At this point, I have yet to add my profit.

I am looking for a way to account for these two totals. If I follow the guide created by Wave on how to track inventory, should I use the $12 as the inventory amount and then consider the $15 to be the costs of goods sold? Again, I am new to accounting and any response would help! Thank you

Comments

• MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@zp03,