Options

Non profit reconciling donations from stripe, square, donorbox, deposited in bulk to bank

JuliaRoseHWCJuliaRoseHWC Member Posts: 1

Hello Wave community -

I'm looking for support on the best way to categorize and reconcile donations (no invoices involved) made from multiple platforms, which are deposited in bulk (the total of multiple individual donations). I'm new to using the platform (and accounting), and would appreciate some guidance here.

Currently, under the guise of @CallieP 's July 20, 2020 post I have set up multiple Money in Transit Accounts (MiT) for each of the platforms I use. And per article (https://support.waveapps.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000472306-How-to-account-for-transaction-fees) I split one of my bulk external deposits to my bank into each corresponding donation amount hoping this would help with the merging process but doesn't seem to have done much thus far except mark it for our own internal knowledge. (I also use the split transaction feature in dealing with fees– assuming this is still a suggestion for dealing with platform and processing fees?).

ex: if total deposit was $50 I 'Split Transaction' into $10, $5, $5, $20 & $10- the corresponding 5 donations from Givebutter uploaded as a bank statement into my Givebutter (MiT) account, and marking the external deposit of $50 as a transfer from Givebutter (MiT).

My hope here was that I would be able to correspond each individual donation or transaction (the $10, $5, $5, $20 & $10) from Givebutter to the bulk deposit ($50).

I see now that you cannot merge multiple transactions, and am aware that by making my deposit a transfer from my Givebutter (MiT) account that Wave also makes a "Created Transfer" as a withdrawal ("This transaction was created by Wave when you categorized another transaction as a transfer") which I'm not sure how to deal with?