Best way to handle expenses and mileage

GreyAreaSecurityGreyAreaSecurity Member Posts: 4

Hi all,

I'm new to Wave and accounting and so far I'm really liking it, although I do think it's lacking around personal expenses and mileage tracking.

I run a small consultancy whereby I will visit a client site and in the process I will incur expenses (mileage and meals). I've only been running it for a couple of months, and what I did before I started using Wave was I paid for the fuel and meals from my personal bank account as I would do when claiming expenses for my normal day job.

I now come to the point of claiming those back from the business, and I'm not sure the best way to do it. Ideally what I would want to do it submit an expense claim each month which includes all of the above items (meals and mileage at a fixed rate per mile) and then pay this once a month back to my personal account.

I've seen the two articles on this subject - the one for creating bills for mileage and the one for adding expenses as journal transactions against owner investment/drawings. They're both a little clunky, or perhaps that's just my inexperience. I want to combine them into something where I can easily see how much I'm owed.

I was wondering if it makes more sense to just set myself (as in me personally) as a supplier, and then submit an 'invoice' to my company which is basically an expense form I create outside Wave. I can then pay this bill once per month and it keeps things neat.

Or am I missing something obvious? Is there a reason not to do this?

Thanks!

Comments

• AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @GreyAreaSecurity.

That would work! There are quite a few ways to handle a situation like yours and what you choose to do in the end largely depends on your preferences.