Options

Sub-categories, classes and "tags"

Comments

• Options
    CracktilianCracktilian Member Posts: 2
    > @meme said:
    > I'm fairly new to Wave and LOVE it for the most part. As I started looking at the reports the end of last year to get everything ready for tax prep I came across the very same problem of needing to view my expenses by project or in my case rental properties. Today, finally, I figured out how to fix my issue!!
    >
    > For each project or property you need to create a "vendor" which is under the Purchases dropdown. Then you need to attached each expense transaction to the appropriate vender. By doing this you can then pull up the report called "Account Transactions" and change the "Contact" dropdown to the vendor (then update report, of course). This will then show all transactions with a total of each expense type.
    >
    > (I also created a vendor name labeled as my business name to see my expenses that can't be separated by property such as my cell phone bill, office supplies ...)

This sounds fine for your particular situation. In my case I have several clients that hire me often for different projects. If I created a new client for every project my client list would grow to be unmanageable. It would also create a new problem for tracking customer sales and sales reports.
  • Options
    jpojpo Member Posts: 7

The challenge that we face is our organisation runs functions, in which we incur some very common expenses (printing, postage, marketing, catering etc) and generate revenue for.

Accounting for these functions has become an absolutely nightmare. Previously it was two per year, now it has grown to one or two a month and has gotten to the point where Wave can't help us.