Options

Posting part of receipt for fuel to Wave (part private)

Nick_WillderNick_Willder Member Posts: 4

Hi Community.

I'm a newbie looking to be pointed in the right direction by a kind soul.

I do a little private business from home in my spare time and use Wave for the accounts. I scan my gas station receipts with my smart phone for posting straight to Wave, but only a small fraction of the cost is eligible as a business use (the rest is my private motoring). How should I process these gas receipts within Wave?

A related query: I am allowed to 'charge' my business with a nominal rent for my home-office, and some heating/lighting costs. How should I process this in Wave?

Thank you in advance

Nick

Comments

• Options
    Michelle_AMichelle_A Member Posts: 45 admin

Great question, @Nick_Willder ! I think your best bet here would be to find this expense under Accounting > Transactions, and then select 'Split Transaction' under the drop down menu to the right of this particular transaction. You can then assign the separated business and personal sides of this transaction to its associated categories.

With regards to your next question, I'd like to get a little more insight into the exact process in which you charge your business rent and expenses e.g. are you transferring directly from your business account to your personal account? This will help to decipher if this is a regular income transaction vs something a little bit more complicated!

• Options

Thank you Michelle. I'll look at splitting the fuel transactions. I calculate I am allowed to 'claim' just 2½% of my motoring costs for business. As there are quite a lot of receipts, would you think another option is to total them all up at the year end, then create a transaction for minus 97½% of the whole value posted to the same account?