Options

Where to put in an expense (item) for re-sale?

SortITSortIT Member Posts: 21

As an example,
I work in IT. I purchase a piece of hardware for 100. I want to re-sell for 110.

I thought I would put the purchase of this hardware under 'Bills'. I go to Bills, but when I choose 'Expense Category', there is no option of the 'Cost of Goods' (which is where I thought it would go under) - (I have created a 'Hardware' under the Cost of Goods in Accounting)

I do see the option under 'Expenses' - "Hardware" - however, does under 'Expenses' mean internal expenses of the day to day running of the business (ie. hardware for my own business, rather than resale).

I also note that under 'Expense Category', there is the head 'INCOME', for which I have created an account 'Sales' - Would it go under that, as it's an expense related to my sales?

As you can see i'm highly confused in this regard.

Many thanks.

Comments

• Options

Anyone? Thought this would be a very common thing!

• Options
    Ryan_WRyan_W Member Posts: 452 ✭✭✭

Hi @SortIT,

Don't worry; this is a common thing! You can create Expense categories for your Purchases to track your Cost of Goods Sold by clicking the Accounting tab along the left side menu > Add an Account > Expense > Cost of Goods Sold. As for re-selling, you would enter these items as products by navigating to Sales > Products & Services > Add a Product/Service. When creating an invoice, you would use the 'Products' created which would be at the marked up price. At any point in time, you would be able to generate an Income Statement (Reports > Income Statement > Select Date Range) to track your income and expenses generated.

You may also want to check out this article regarding inventory tracking in Wave: https://support.waveapps.com/hc/en-us/articles/208623546-Simple-inventory-entry-tracking-in-Wave

I hope that clears it up!

• Options

@Ryan_W - Thanks for your reply.

I am almost there... I think!