Downloaded bank transactions being merged into previously downloaded transactions

JEfromCanadaJEfromCanada Member Posts: 10

I have been using Wave accounting for several years and this issue has been there from the very beginning. Not only is it extremely difficult to find, but based on removal of the "sort by amount" feature, it will be be near-impossible. Let me explain.

I run a service business with a relatively small number of services. This means I generate a significant number of invoices for the same amount, and therefore make bank deposits for the same amount. In order to reconcile my sales against deposits, I have created three asset accounts named "Cheques to be deposited", "Cash to be deposited" and "Chequing Account". The last of these is the account associated with my bank. The other two are temporary accounts that I use to signify than an invoice has been paid, but the payments have not yet showed up in my bank account. When a deposit deposit shows up in my transaction list, I manually add an "Add Expense" transaction to reduce the amount in my "holding" account while adding to my bank account balance; and then I merge the two transactions (the bank deposit record, and the transaction I just created) so that the bank balance is not credited twice. Not only does this system allow me to know exactly where the funds are located at any given time, it also serves as a visual reminder that I am still expecting to see downloaded bank transaction in my transaction list.

And now that you understand the background, here is the actual problem with Wave...