Claim reimbursable expenses on an invoice

124»

Comments

• jstukjstuk Member Posts: 2

Thank you, @AlexL that was helpful! But it leads me to another question: Reimbursed Expenses are an income category so when I look at Reports, and specifically Profit & Loss, they are considered profit. This seems odd to me.

For example, I drive 100 miles for a client and bill them for mileage at $.50/mile. When they pay me $50 for mileage, should that really be considered profit?

Or, let's say I invoice a client for a photo shoot (I'm a photographer) for $1,300 with 2 line items--Photography Fee for $1,000 and a Photo Assistant for $300. The client pays me $1,300 directly and I pay the assistant $300. Should that $300 I'm paid from the client really count towards my profit?

In each of these cases, do I need to be making a journal transaction for those reimbursed expenses? E.g. I have $300 income (reimbursable expense) for the photo assistant on an invoice--do I also need to make a journal transaction for the expense? That way the income (profit) and expense (loss) would cancel each other out on my P&L? For these examples, I don't usually make a journal transaction for the expenses--I just bill for them in my invoices. So maybe this is my issue?

Also, how does COGS fit into this? Let's use the above example of the photo assistant but instead this time I just bill the client a flat $1,300 with no line item for the assistant. Would I then make a journal transaction for $300 for the assistant as a Subcontracted Service under COGS?

Thank you so much for your help and patience with us accounting greenhorns!

• franmorfinifranmorfini Member Posts: 2

@AlexL already done, but how do I place it in my invoice? Can you please add screenshots with a step by step of what happens once I have properly categorized the expenses in transactions?

edited April 30, 2021
  • JulianPJulianP Member Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Hey there @jstuk !