What is bank reconciliation and how do I use it?

Comments

• ZoeCZoeC Member Posts: 388 admin

Hey @mommyof4grlz, thanks for letting us know your figured things out! :smile:

• JHRED1JHRED1 Member Posts: 17

It's a new system which needs to be learnt so definitely headache time. I do think the previous system was more straightforward. Time will tell.

edited April 9, 2019

edited April 4, 2019

Reconciling just got more complicated but I am starting to get used to it.

Splitting a transaction was easy as well but now it's more complicated. Splitting a single payment for several invoices can't be split and merged with each invoice any longer. Instead I have to duplicate the entries and change the amounts and then merge the corresponding invoices - now I doubt my merged records are going to be kept complete anyway because it looks like some records have lost the corresponding merged record.

I'm a business owner not a bookkeeper.. what I was doing on the transaction page was reconciling the bank (sync or statement uploads) against the payments made (invoices/receipts)...

I've edited this because I am slowly getting to grips with the new system and I think once I have it nailed it'll be ok. It's definitely not as simple as before but I do think it's a lot more robust.

edited April 9, 2019
  • JustinaEditJustinaEdit Member Posts: 6

How can actual bank account be reconciled with wave, when wave records an invoice date and not the payment date when transactions are merged? The invoice maybe came in March but the payment was made in April, so two accounts will never match.

edited April 7, 2019