Accounting for overpayments

13»

Comments

• KatjaKatja Member Posts: 3

Please create a credit note facility for customers. It is a nuisance to have to log overpayments elsewhere as these credits do not appear on customer statements. Pease make provisions for this. This is a simple accounting feature.

• emcgustyemcgusty Member Posts: 1

Here is end of chat with Wave support on issue where they recommended I should talk to an accounting professional - they ended chat before getting my response ... "You guys (Wave) need to talk to an accounting professional, and fix the system. As an accounting professional I'm telling you, the advice you are giving due to the self imposed system limitations is a bit negligent as it is leading people to recognize the liability of an overpayment as income. Setting up a sales item only allows income accounts and this is a liability/contra-asset. You should allow a sales item to be classified to any account someone wants. Or allow reapplies with Payments by Wave like any other payment - system handles it very well. Or tell people they have to refund the money due to system limitations - not very convenient last choice but easiest. Please create a trouble ticket for this." You guys are a billion dollar company and this issue is easily correctable.

• StirrinDustStirrinDust Member Posts: 1

just a button that says "pay invoice with overpayment" would be awesome. I did what you suggested and is sorta worked. Thank goodness I'm just tracking team membership dues. This is dirty accounting. Same problem everyone else has with it not showing as a credit on the statement.

• Charlene_HCharlene_H Member Posts: 8

i don't get this at all. Why does it have to be so complicated!? When the client overpays, why doesn't Wave just automatically shunt the amount into a holding account so it can be split?

actually, wait a minute: this is increasing the amount of sales recorded! how's that going to work come tax time!?