Options

Merge Accounts under Chart of Accounts

CorieCorie Member Posts: 3

Hi All,
When I first started wave, I made a mistake of importing some transactions into the wrong account. Ie: a liability account (credit card) rather than a cash and bank account. Fortunately, these imports are all expenses and nothing else so it didn't affect things until I look at my trial balance report at year end. However, now that I have about a thousand of transactions, it'll be very time consuming for me to change them manually. Is there a way to highlight them all and change them to the correct account? Ie change from Credit card to Cash and Bank. Presently, you can only change the category from the "Edit" button after highlighting multiple transactions. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    springdalerocksspringdalerocks Member Posts: 13

Corie, I am new at WAVE so take this suggestion with at least a grain of salt: how straightforward is it to identify the relevant transactions? Is it possible you could go ahead do a full transaction download (see settings in way lower left sidebar) , and then identify/upload again only the transactions you want to put in the cash and bank account? (You will still have to eliminate the old, incorrectly placed ones, of course.)

If that's too messy, do you have/can you still get CSV file/s of these transactions, so you could upload some or all to the proper account from the CSVs and then batch-delete the wrong/old transactions? Adding a character in the description (**) so you can tell which is old and which is new might help; account info in the entry will also make it possible to tell which is old/new.

If i were doing this, I would look to match the number of transactions to trash and to upload, and sum/total each to make sure they matched.