Options

How to register a Refund

MikeLEMikeLE Member Posts: 1

I would like to cancel an invoice and create a refund, but not sure how to do that.
This is how I created the invoice:

• Estimate Created
  • Estimated Converted to Invoice
  • Customer paid by Wire Transfer
  • Recorded a payment

Now need to refund $19,700 out of $19,900; (payment was not processed by Wave)
Please explain steps, how should I properly cancel an invoice and register a refund. I'm not an Accounting Pro.

Thanks,
Mike

Comments

• Options
    TucksedeauxsTucksedeauxs Member Posts: 1

I have the same issue. The best advice I found for those of us not using Wave Payments (though slightly convoluted) is this:
    1. Create a duplicate negative invoice for the customer and amount refunded (-19,700, make sure to assign the original income account for the item/service).
    2. From the invoice, record a negative payment (which will be the refund transaction you made).
    3. If you have already made the refund, go back to the transactions page and delete that (now duplicate) transaction (NOT the one marked Invoice Payment), or do so immediately after making the actual refund.
    [Note: You can't assign an outlay as an invoice payment from the transactions page.]

Good luck.

edited January 4, 2019
  • Options
    RahimRahim Member Posts: 97 ✭✭

Hi @MikeLE and @Tucksedeauxs

On the upgraded Accounting platform you can do the following:

1. Go to Accounting > Transactions
    2. Add Expense
    3. Add a description (Refund for Invoice X)
    4. Choose the same account where the payment was deposited into
    5. Enter the refund amount under “Total Amount”
    6. Under category type refund and choose the “Refund sent for an invoice in Wave”
    7. Type or scroll to find the invoice and select it.
    8. Add the refund reason in the notes for your reference and save the transaction.