new to wave and accounting - worth it over hiring an accountant for company&tax returns?

alexralexr Member Posts: 6

I'm own a small Ltd business in the UK and need to file the first company accounts and corporation tax returns. I'm new to accounting. An accountant just quoted me for £650 to do that. The company has made only purchases of goods in the first year, without any other trading, most being in my name which need to be transferred over as company assets, and there are a few tens of invoices to go through for that.

My question is simple (but I fear the answer starts with "depends"): How long would all of that take me as beginner to do myself with Wave? Is it worth £650? That price would be a stretch right now.

Comments

• Ryan_WRyan_W Member Posts: 452 ✭✭✭

Hey @alexr welcome aboard! As much as you may not want to hear it, I can't help but preface this with "it depends", although that's purely because I don't know enough about your business.

That said, it sounds like it would be pretty quick. You'd want to import your relevant business transactions which would take a few minutes, and you'd want to set up your Chart of Accounts to add any custom accounts which you need for your business (also only a couple clicks), and create some invoices which is also quite slick.

For what it's worth, you can always create as many business profiles within a Wave account as you like. So, you could set up the first business as a test business of sorts, getting comfortable with the workflows and features etc. Then, once you're ready you can create a new business by clicking the toggle menu above "Dashboard" > Create new business. I agree that their price is pretty steep, and there's minimal risk (the only cost really being your time, which I respect is valuable) in setting up a test profile to play around with it (it's free anyway, so why not, right?).