Accounting for transaction fees

LauSLauS Member Posts: 2

Hello,

I'm trying to figure out how to account for some currency exchange and transaction fees. Here's the situation:

• Wave account is in CAD (I'm a Canadian tax resident)
  • Invoices are primarily issued in USD
  • My business expenses are in both CAD and USD

Given the situation where:

• I issue an invoice for 5000 USD
  • Customer pays the 5000 USD, but I end up with 4980 USD because of SWIFT fees being taken along the way. I record a payment received for 4980 USD on that date, and Wave records it as 4980 x (that day's exchange rate) CAD.
  • The invoice is paid in USD to a multi-currency virtual bank (think TransferWise, CurrencyFair, etc).
  • When my bills come due, I may transfer some of that money into CAD to pay my CAD bills and pay others in USD directly.

The problems:

• How do I account for the SWIFT fees taken out? That is unrealised gain.
  • How do I account for the actual exchange rate I paid, considering the conversion was at a different date than that of the invoice? That may be unrealised gain, or inversely some additional gain.
  • How do I account for the FX commission, considering it's just taken from the converted amount, rather than issued to me separately?

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• JordanDJordanD Member Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

Hey @LauS and welcome to Wave's Community! We are really excited to have you contribute to our online space :)