Options

Isn't the dashboard wrong for year end?

GregVeresGregVeres Member Posts: 24

Hi,

I am not an accounting expert, but I believe that the fiscal year is always specified by the year the FY ends in. For instance, my year end is June 30. So just a few days ago, my FY2019 just ended and my FY2020 just began.
https://investinganswers.com/dictionary/f/fiscal-year

But on the dashboard, I noticed that net income tile uses the wrong name for the FY year. It now shows a header with 2018 and 2019 as the two FY years to show - it is showing my FY2019 values under the heading of 2018 and it is showing my new FY for 2020 under the heading of 2019.

Isn't this wrong? Or am I misunderstanding something?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    ZoeCZoeC Member Posts: 388 admin

Hey @GregVeres, thanks for reaching out! The way fiscal years actually work in Wave is it goes from your start date to your end date. Your start date goes from 2018 - 2019, which is why you are seeing those headings on your dashboard. Once this fiscal year ends, and your next begins, you will see 2019 and 2020 on your dashboard, your start date to your end date. I hope that explains things, this can be a bit confusing, so let me know if you have any questions! :smile:

• Options
    GregVeresGregVeres Member Posts: 24
    @Zoe_caff
    Hi Zoe

It isn’t that it is that confusing, it is that it is is wrong based on standard convention. I have been using wave for over a year and I didn’t notice that it was wrong until my fiscal year end this time.

I am now in my fy2020 even though wave is calling it fy2019.

I guess you can claim it isn’t technically wrong because the label doesn’t say FY in front of it.

If I had one big ask it would be better support for fiscal year ends that don’t line up with calendar year ends. Specifically preset report ranges and labels.

Greg
  • Options
    JuliaFrolovaJuliaFrolova Member Posts: 1

Im new and I am having a huge problem understanding anything.