Enter payroll history

SystemSystem Posts: 412 admin

imageEnter payroll history

If you're switching to Wave mid-year, you need to enter your historical payroll data. This helps ensure that employee tax forms and pay stubs are accurate, and allows Wave to calculate the appropri...

Read the full story here

edited July 9, 2019 in Help Center Discussion

Comments

• amyaamya Member Posts: 1
    1. I have been using Wave Payroll for a few years but I am new to Wave Accounting. Will the steps in this post work for me?

2. If so, do I need to make sure the transactions related to payroll (imported from my bank) are uncategorized before I work through the steps? Also, where is the gear icon exactly?

3. If not, what do I do? I intend to start Accounting from January 1, 2019 and have imported my bank transactions from that point.

4. I see the journal entries in Accounting > Transactions > "Payroll period ending...", but I do not understand how to categorize my imported bank transactions to match and so my reports are accurate.

5. Specifically, these are the imported bank transactions I don't know what to do with:
      -- Monthly payroll tax payments to the IRS
      -- Payroll
      -- Estimated income tax payments for 2019 in April & June via EFTPS
      -- Estimated income tax payment for 2018 in January via EFTPS
      -- Q1 payment to IRS (not sure what this even is)
      -- Q1 payment to TX (not sure what this even is)

edited July 9, 2019
  • ZoeCZoeC Member Posts: 388 admin

Hey @amya, thanks for reaching out! It is not possible to enter Payroll history after a payroll has been ran & approved, this step is an onboarding step that is available during your set up.

In regards to bookkeeping for your Payroll, those journal transactions will be bookkept in two steps: 1. The creation of a journal transaction, and
    2. an expense transaction in the Transactions page