Options

How to categorize money reserved for quarterly tax payments?

wmuenchwmuench Member Posts: 2

Hi everyone,
I'm relatively new to Wave, and to being an entrepreneur in general. I have Wave connected to my business bank account, and I'm trying to figure out how to categorize the money in Wave that I have reserved for quarterly tax payments. So for example, if I receive a payment for $1000 for services rendered, as an single member LLC, I'm setting 35% of that aside for estimated tax payments. To keep it separate in my bank account, I'm transferring 35% to my savings and keeping the remainder in my checking.

How can I categorize the 35% in savings to reflect that it is reserved for future tax payments?

Thanks,
Bill

Comments

• Options
    JamieDJamieD Administrator Posts: 1,156 admin

@wmuench Hey Bill! In this situation, it sounds like you will want to create a holding account to allocate those specific funds (it could, technically be a money in transit account or a 'short term asset' account). From there, you will simply just categorize those particular transactions under that, for example, short term asset account. You will want to label this account with something along the lines of 'future tax payment' to easily track this as well.

• Options
    MikegMikeg Member Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

@wmuench,
    If you have a separate account then you would create a cash account under your chart of accounts - Tax Savings. Then record transfers between your checking and savings as you would any other transfer. The category is "transfer to/from" as the transaction is neither income nor expense, merely a movement from account to another.

• Options
    wmuenchwmuench Member Posts: 2

Thanks for the advice, that makes sense! I'll try it out.

All the best,
    Bill

• Options
    thee_dempsthee_demps Member Posts: 7