Options

True split transactions

TraekTraek Member Posts: 4

While I think I am familiar with the split functionality, there are use cases in my business that I would like to share to see if it is possible to achieve with Wave.

As a real estate agent, I often have a single transaction -- a deposit -- hit my business checking account that actually contains several transactions inside of it. These transactions typically include:

• Income - Commission
  • Income (negative) - Co-broke "fee". This is not an expense -- more on this in a minute
  • Several expenses - Usually transaction fees (e.g. errors and omissions insurance, transaction coordinator/admin fee, technology fee balance, etc.).

The single imported transaction therefore consists of both debits and credits or to your terminologies: withdrawals and deposits or expenses and income. This is extremely common for real estate agents, certainly one of the biggest use cases in the US for small business owners. I'm not sure how many other professionals see these kinds of transactions and how often.

Your current implementation -- unless I'm just not figuring it out -- only allows me to show multiple categories of the same type of transaction. This can be useful for cases where you need to track, say, sales tax or you itemize your trip to Costco. I really look for excuses to use the current implementation and really only have had one or two cases. The first use case I shared here is something I see every month -- and if I'm doing my job right -- multiple times a month.

One other thing: this co-broke fee is an issue. In QuickBooks Self-Employed edition (which I still pay for because Wave can't cut it) I am able to use a category against any type of transaction. Take my Commission Income for example:

Say I have $6,425.00 commission check deposited in my account. I might see a check stub the next day that breaks down the amount like this:

• $7,500.00 Gross commission ($250,000.00 sales price @ 3%)