Supplier credit notes

MobileMechanicGuyMobileMechanicGuy Member Posts: 5

So as a mechanic I buy parts from suppliers that don’t always get used (maybe a last minute cancellation or wrong part for the vehicle), I then return these parts and get given a credit note (and a refund) how do I input that credit so the original doesn’t count towards my expenses? Thanks

Comments

• BarsinBarsin Member, Moderator Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭

Hey there @MobileMechanicGuy

If you're receiving a refund, you'll want to take that green transaction and mark it as a refund for an income account or for an invoice. I might however be a bit unclear on the

receiving a credit note and a refund

part. Do you receive credit notes on your purchases that you send back, or refunds? Is the money returned to your account or is it just credit for future purchases?

You may benefit from the prepayments part of this article!

https://support.waveapps.com/hc/en-us/articles/208622916-How-to-handle-invoice-deposits-or-pre-payments

• MobileMechanicGuyMobileMechanicGuy Member Posts: 5

Sorry I may have been unclear. Most of my products are on an account that I clear after 30 days so at the point of receiving a credit it’s a credit for the invoice.

Generally the invoice I receive the credit for has already been input though so need to be able to put the credit note into the system ( as a minus amount) so the invoice amount is removed from my expenses.

There are some occasions when I will have paid for an item that has a credit and physical money will change hands do I then have to use a different method like above?

(Both ways in question are for when I purchase parts or materials for the business)

Appreciate the response, thanks.

• AlexLAlexL Member Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭

Hey @MobileMechanicGuy . You can add a negative item to any of your Bills (assuming that this is how you're keeping track of these expenses) add name it a credit. It will reduce the total amount of the Bill.